configurableCss

Headertopmenu

 
Close
Shopping Cart 0
You have no items in your shopping cart.
  • search
  • ellipses

Product reviews for Beef Head Cheese - 1 lb.

Write your own review
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
  • Bad
  • Excellent
Existing reviews
Lovely!
From: Amelia | Date: 2015-03-07 9:45 AM
Delicious.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (4/0)
wonderful!
From: Alison | Date: 2015-03-20 2:06 PM
I have never loved the flavor of liver, though I like the idea of eating it. This is wonderful! The taste is mild and you get lots of organ meats in it. Spiced very nicely!
Was this review helpful? Yes No (8/0)
Yum!
From: Rebecca | Date: 2015-08-10 1:18 PM
My kids have been a fan of beef head cheese for years now...This is their go to food at anytime of the day. When given the choice they prefer this food over any frank. We just slice and eat and add some grass-fed cheese or fry it up in an iron skillet with coconut oil or Kerrygold butter before adding eggs, cheese and veggies for a scramble/omlete or dip it straight into fried eggs. We also use it for a meat choice in chili or tacos or any type of soup that calls for meat. We do the same thing with liverwurst. Keep on making this item and we will keep on buying it!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? Yes No (9/1)
This may be my new favorite food!
From: Jesse | Date: 2016-06-16 7:53 PM
I sliced it and fried in an iron skillet. It reminds me of sausage, but without the seasonings sausage generally has. It will be great with some eggs. Will buy again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Kids liked it, and so did I.
From: Darla | Date: 2016-06-30 1:03 PM
We just had this for breakfast for the first time and it was a winner all around.  All the kids (ages 8-16) liked it as did I.  I have no doubt my husband will, too.  We fried it up in a cast iron skillet, browning both sides.  Since it's already cooked, it fries up quickly. The cost will prohibit us from having it too very much, but I could see it being a once-a-month treat or something like that.  
Was this review helpful? Yes No (2/0)
Different and delicious
From: Norman | Date: 2016-11-01 9:02 PM
This all beef product doesn't look like any other head cheese I've seen, most of which also contain a lot of gelatin surrounding chunks of meat. It seems to be more of a somewhat coarse bologna. However, whatever they want to call it, this stuff is delicious. It has a nice mix of flavors and textures and isn't overly salted or spiced. I enjoyed it as open faced sandwiches on a good rye bread with a schmear of imported mustard. Just picking up a slice and eating it plain was great, too. i will definitely get this again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (3/0)
Not the headcheese I expected
From: Julia | Date: 2017-01-12 4:56 PM
This did not look or taste like headcheese I grew up with in Europe. It was OK, when treated more as a wet, rough texture bologna than a headcheese.  

*From USW Meats- We are sorry for your disappointment with the headcheese! It is a very popular product at USWM. We have refunded your card and welcome your honest feedback at any time. With sincere gratitude, The US Wellness Meats Team
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
neutral flavor
From: Lavern | Date: 2017-03-15 4:30 PM
I have never tasted head cheese before, so I have nothing to compare this to. I give this 5 stars for the nutrition, and I will simply abstain from rating the flavor within the star system. I ate a portion of this plain, no cooking, no added condiments, to get the pure experience. I was reminded somewhat of leftover cooked ground beef that had not been strongly seasoned. It's not bad in any way, just very neutral tasting. I am glad I tried it, and I will "dress up" the remainder with some added seasonings.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Pleasant surprise!
From: Deborah | Date: 2017-04-25 8:35 PM
I just ate this for the first time. I've never liked organ meats, but I began eating the liverwurst for health reasons. My nephew told me to try the head cheese, that it was even better than the liverwurst. Wow! He was right. I actually look forward to this. Never Ever thought I'd say that.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Headcheese, Liverwurst and Braunschweiger
From: Barry | Date: 2017-08-01 8:32 PM
Holy Smokes. I bought 2 of each of the above and just had a couple of slices of each. Wow. Really really good. I'm not sure which one I liked the most but I'll lean towards the head cheese. First time ever for head cheese.
I always looked away at the gelatin, meat chunk h.c. concoction I saw in the supermarket. Always reminded me of those 1970's clear lucite toilets with pennies embedded in them.
So, I had some head cheese slices with raw cheese then heated some liverwurst up with eggs
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
good taste, texture not great
From: maya | Date: 2017-10-19 1:58 PM
the taste of this is good, like a mild salami. i so wanted to love it because it's such an easy way to get good organ meats but there are too many unchewable gristly bits in it to make it a completely pleasant eating experience for me.

*From USW Meats- We are sorry for your disappointment with the beef head cheese! We have refunded your card and welcome your honest feedback at any time. With sincere gratitude, The US Wellness Meats Team
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Don't be afraid to try this! It's easy to eat!
From: Marlena | Date: 2017-12-22 10:31 AM
I was afraid of the name and ingredients, but since I was trying to get organ meats into my diet I gave it a try, especially since they say it is the mildest of their organ sausages. I have to agree. It tastes mostly just like regular beef.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Too many bone fragments
From: Christian | Date: 2018-04-14 12:24 PM
4-6 hard bone fragments in each “cheese” that one needs to spit out. This as of my last two orders.

Product quality has gone down.

*From USW Meats- We are sorry for your disappointment with the beef head cheese! We have issued a credit to your store account and welcome your honest feedback at any time. With sincere gratitude, The US Wellness Meats Team
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Very delicious
From: Sarah | Date: 2018-04-15 8:47 PM
I just tasted the head cheese - and after the first nibble didn't even wait for the other slices I cut to thaw! YUM. Thank you so much!!!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Great breakfast item
From: David | Date: 2018-09-23 10:07 AM
Pan frying these in some tallow for breakfast with eggs were a delicious way to start the day.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Bone fragments and Off Smell
From: Tram | Date: 2019-01-20 4:44 PM
I have been ordering from USWM for several years now and this is the first item I/we do not like. We found several bone fragments. Also, I tried cooking it and the smell was not pleasant. I love organ meats/offal so I’m familiar with the odors, but this one was off. Thank goodness you have so many other delicious items to choose!

*USWM - Thank you for your feedback, we're very sorry for your disappointment!  We have returned a credit to you for the package of Beef Head Cheese.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
good but not great
From: paula | Date: 2019-02-13 7:23 AM
Got my beef head cheese yesterday.  Flavor is okay but not liking how watery it is and having to be careful eating as I so far in a decent sized chunk bit on 2 bones.  Probably wont get this again but I'm glad I tried it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Awful Smell, Bland Tast
From: Rose | Date: 2019-03-02 4:14 AM
I love the idea of an organ sausage but this head cheese wasn't great and I definitely won't be buying this again. The texture is watery and has lots of gristly, chewy bits that are not pleasant. Also the smell is really strong and not great. It tastes okay but pretty bland. Disappointed.

*USWM -- We are sorry for your experience with the beef head cheese! Our organ sausages are among our most soughtafter products.  We have issued a refund to your card and welcome your honest feedback at any time. With gratitude, The US Wellness Meats Team
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Great
From: Christopher | Date: 2019-03-15 8:43 PM
The seasoning is spot on.  If I ever want to treat myself I get one of these along with a block of their raw milk cheese and eat slices of them together.  Kinda like cheese and crackers only without the crackers.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I like it!
From: Thomas | Date: 2019-05-15 1:00 PM
This was my first time trying Beef Head Cheese. In the past I loved Hog Head Cheese, this is not as tasty as Hog Head Cheese, but still good. Will buy again!
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)